Wednesday=Writing

Well it’s Wednesday here at Kricket’s Korner and that means we’re going to talk about writing. Yes, this will be a weekly thing. I consider writing to be my job. After being a Home Manager of course. Writing doesn’t pay anything, yet, but I’m working on it.

So what am I writing right now? Well, last month I finished a massive manuscript that I’ve been working on for a couple years. That project is sitting in a corner waiting for me to have the energy to fix it. I still love the story, but man, there is so much that needs to be fixed before it can ever see the light of day.

Then, earlier this month I wrote some flash fiction. For those unfamiliar, flash fiction is a super short story. It has a beginning, middle and end, but it’s all written in under 1000 words. It’s a challenge for me to be that brief and to not allow a story to grow and expand. And today I just sent that little 800 word piece to try and get published. I’m pretty nervous/excited. I’ve never submitted anything before. Like ever.

So basically, I just signed up for my first rejection! Woohoo? Getting your first rejection makes you a “real” writer, right?

Yeah I don’t know either.

So that’s what I’ve been up to. What about you? Are you a writer? What are you working on currently? Leave a comment and we can chat!

Leave a Reply

