Mommy Confessions: Preschool

So this is one of those cases where I had a title for a blog written down and I could have sworn I had this post already drafted out, but I can’t find it anywhere. I guess we’ll just roll with it. 🙂

William started preschool a few weeks ago. Yeah, it’s kind of the tail end of the year, but we got the chance to get into a private preschool that normally has a very long waiting list. I wasn’t about to miss this chance.

Image

So far, everything has been going great. William loves to go to school and asks to go everyday. And I’m enjoying having only one kid to worry about for a few hours a couple times a week. I was nervous at first, but I was mostly worried that William wouldn’t be his best self while at school. Like most toddlers, I’m sure, he can be a brat. But his teacher has had nothing but nice things to say, so I worried for nothing.

It’s a little weird getting to this stage of life. For the last four years it’s been nothing but me and the boys all day. There weren’t very many outside forces that changed out daily routine. And I’ll admit, this sudden shift into preschool rattled me a bit. I knew he would be starting preschool this year, but everything came together super fast and it took me, not William, some time to adjust.

I remember telling Daniel on the first day of school that I finally felt like a real parent. You know, the ones who live in their cars driving kids everywhere. I actually had a reason to get up and put on real clothes every morning (okay, two mornings a week). It’s also been nice to get out of the house. I’m a homebody, and I like it, but it’s nice to have somewhere to go and be.

In other, mommy related news, I really hope the weather will decide what it’s doing soon. I’m tired of someone in this house always being sick.

So, fellow parents, tell me about your preschool experiences. I want to hear the good and the bad. 🙂 Leave a comment so we can chat!

Thanks for stopping by and reading!

Leave a Reply

