CampNaNo Is Coming!

For those of you who know me or have been following my blogs for a while you know that every November I try and do this thing called National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). The idea with NaNo is to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. Hard, but not impossible. I won last year. πŸ™‚

Well, the folks that run that do a summer program called CampNaNo. The big difference between regular NaNo and Camp is that you don’t haveΒ to write a 50,000 word novel for Camp. You can write anything you want at whatever length. Want to write a play? Go for it! Want to write a collection of fairy tales? Write away! Also, at Camp you’ll be placed into cabins with other people so you can make new friends. They’ll be your support group and other fun things.

This is my first year going to Camp and I’m excited. πŸ™‚ Really, writing a novel in the summer works a little better for me than in November. I’m not as busy in the summer and I’m just in a better mood to write. Winter gives me the blues. Plus, I have this brand new project to start that makes me really happy. I’ll talk more about that project next week, but here’s a little picture I put together as a teaser type thing.

Crow

This picture was made here.

Anyway, the challenge starts April 1st. So you still have time to sign up if you’re so inclined. My name over on the NaNo sites is Kricket (of course). As the month progresses, I’ll be writing “letters from Camp” every Wednesday to tell you how things are going.

Are you going to Camp this year? Have you done it before? Any tips for the newbie? Leave a comment and we can chat! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

