Kricket Cooks!?

So… This should have gone up yesterday but I got caught up in watching a new anime. This happens to me occasionally. I find a new show to watch, like Doctor Who or Sword Art Online and I just binge on it. It can be problematic.

Anyway, I’m going to talk about something I don’t normally like doing, cooking. It’s not that I don’t know how or have no skills, I just don’t enjoy it, what so ever. It seriously stresses me out.

Until recently, and I discovered the slow cooker. Why didn’t anyone tell me how amazing these little babies are? You throw some meat, veggies and sauce in there in the morning and then let it cook all day and it’s ready by dinner time. And you can make just about anything in them.

In an effort to eat healthier and to spend less money on fast food, I’ve been trying to cook more at home. The slow cooker has made this so much easier. Even though I’m home all day and, technically, have the time to cook a meal, I don’t want to. By five or six o’clock I’m just done with the day and the last thing I want to do is cook a big meal. But in the morning or maybe 3 o’clock, it’s a lot easier for me to whip something together.

So I’ve been trying out a lot of new things and look up a lot of recipes online. God bless you cooking bloggers, thank you for helping to make my life easier. The only issue I’ve run into is that a lot of slow cooker recipes are for larger cookers, like 6 or 8 quarts. Mine is only 4 quarts, so I have to make a lot of adjustments.

All the recipes I’ve made have come from other places, so I won’t bother sharing anything here. There is tons of information out there and lots of ideas. If you’re interested in the few things I’ve tried here’s a link to my Pinterest board. I make a lot of adjustments to these recipes because of my smaller slow cooker and to appeal to my family’s taste. Daniel loves spicy food.

The next thing I want to try is freezer to slow cooker meals. This is where you prepare meals way in advance and put them in the freezer. Then when you want to cook that meal, you defrost it and throw it in the cooker for the day. I really want to try this, I’ve just yet to set aside a Saturday to do it.

So what are some of your favorite, easy recipes? Where do you get your ideas? Share in the comments! Thanks for reading and have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

