CampNaNo: Week 1

This really should be titled “CampNaNo: Day 2” since Camp just started yesterday. I don’t have much to say about Camp itself, yet. I am in a cabin with a friend from real life, which is cool. It helps to keep me on my game because I know she’ll ask me about my writing every time I see her. 🙂

I started off this Camp strong with 1117 words yesterday. To make it to 50,000 words by the end of the month I need to be writing 1666 words a day. So I was about 550 words short, but that’s okay. I’ll make it up today.

So since I just started this new story why don’t I tell you a little bit about it. The working title is “New Crow”, and that’s more for me than anyone else. See, a couple years ago I wrote another novel based on the same character, Crow, but it sucked horribly. I’m using a lot of notes and character development from that first novel, but that’s about it.

Who is Crow, you ask? White Crow is a character I’ve had since I was 13. She’s a tall, athletic woman with long white hair and icy blue eyes. She’s about 1400 years old and has spent most of her life being an assassin. She’s ageless, not immortal. She doesn’t age or get sick but she can be killed. She got this power, and a cool sword, from a demigod named Lugh, who is currently cursed into the form of a white crow. They’ve been together for a very long time.

This novel that I’ve started is based around Crow and a couple of her magical friends. Maggie is a half-goddess with a wide array of magical skills. Jay is part shape shifter, part dark elf and has a talent with sound waves. Together they run a very popular night club (yet unnamed) in downtown Atlanta and occasionally help people with supernatural problems.

And that’s all I’m going to say about it because A) I don’t want to spoil it and B) I don’t have much more of the story figured out, yet. 😉 I do have come character concept art I’ve put together to help inspire me.

White Crow
White Crow Want to make a doll like this? Go here: http://www.dolldivine.com/rpg-heroine-creator.php
Maggie Want to make oll like this? Go here: http://www.dolldivine.com/rpg-heroine-creator.php
Maggie
Want to make doll like this? Go here: http://www.dolldivine.com/rpg-heroine-creator.php

So that’s what I’m working on this month. What about you? Are you doing Camp and if so, what are you writing? Leave a comment and we can chat!

Thanks for reading, have a great day and go be creative!

Leave a Reply

