The Sting

So I’m glad I didn’t post on time yesterday because now I get to talk about something other than my sad attempt at CampNaNo.

This morning, I got my first rejection.

Yep, I’m a “real” writer now. :’)

About a month ago I submitted a flash fiction piece to an online literary magazine and they emailed me this morning. I’m thankful for their timely response.

It was a weird feeling getting that email. I kind of knew I would be rejected, but when I saw it hit my inbox my heart leapt with hope. There was this tiny part of me that really thought I could get accepted my first time out. Then I read the email and I cried, a little.

I keep telling myself I knew this was going to happen, but that doesn’t take the sting out of it. Honestly, this hurt me a lot more than I thought it would.

But I refuse to get depressed! I’m not going to sit here and bemoan the fact that one magazine said no. I’m not going to translate that into thinking I’m a horrible writer. Nope. I’m going to get up, dust my self off and find another place to submit it. Because, you know what? That’s what real, professional writers do. They keep moving forward.

And I’m still not going to give up on CampNaNo. I know I won’t make it to 50,000 words by the 30th, but that’s okay, I’ll just keep writing. And next time I’m given an option to write less than 50k in 30 days, I’ll take it. So maybe next Camp I’ll set a goal of like 20,000 words or something. 🙂

Have you been rejected, or accepted? Leave a comment and we can chat! Thank you for reading and Keep Writing!

3 thoughts on “The Sting

  1. Yeah, it does sting. Eventually you’ll publish and then you can thumb your nose at them!

    In one of his collections of short stories, Isaac Asimov included a few of his own rejection letters. IIRC, one was from after he was famous and said (paraphrased): “Normally I love your stuff but this story stinks.”

  2. P.S. The worst part of my rejection (I’m 1 for 2) was that they said, “We don’t need another story about X!” The story about X (not quite the same, but close enough) came out a couple of months after my rejection…how the heck was I supposed to know that they’d already accepted a story like that when they hadn’t actually published it yet?

Leave a Reply

