Book Review: The Dreamthief’s Daughter

The Dreamthief’s Daughter

By: Michael Moorcock

3 STARS

DTD

The first new “Eternal Champion” novel in ten years and a major fantasy publishing event, “The Dreamthief’s Daughter” continues the highly successful Elrick Saga. The Count Ulric von Bek meets a figure known to him only in dreams–Elrick of Melnibon, the wandering Prince of Ruins. Somehow the same person, yet separate, their very beings fuse spectacularly. Now the never-ending struggle between Law and Chaos must be fought in both their universes.

(link, image and description all from Amazon)

I first picked up this book as a teenager. I’d never read Moorcock before and the thing that drew me in was the cover art. I’m a sucker for good cover.

In rereading this, I began to wonder what captured me so hard as a teen. I remember thinking at the time that this book might be a little beyond me but still, I liked it a lot. At the time, I had a thing for World War II and Nazis and the history of that time. Plus, there were dragons in the book. I’m also a sucker for dragons.

Also, this was the first book I had read that introduced me to the idea of a multi-verse. That there are infinite universes out there and there is a version of you in every one. That captured my imagination so hard. And it still does.

But now that I’m reviewing this book as an adult I can only give it 3 stars. The beginning is slow and boring. There is a lot of set up and a huge history lesson. If you’re interested in German history around the time of World War I and World War II then you might enjoy it, but other wise it’s a bit of a drag.

Also, you’ll spend most of your time in the head of Count Ulric, who is an interesting character, but Elrick is way cooler. I’d rather been with him.

But still, after all these years between the first time I read this book and now, it still captures my interest and is still a good read, it just might not be for everyone because of it’s slow pace.

So what are you reading this weekend? Leave a comment and we can chat! Thanks for stopping by and reading! Be sure to check out my other Book Reviews in the link above.

Leave a Reply

