Imperfection

denver templeMost (if not all of you) know that I am Mormon, a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I’m not the kind of person that shouts my religion from the roof tops, but I don’t shy away from it either. And I’m sure some might be wondering what my thoughts are on all this stuff that’s been going on in and around the Church.

In general, it all makes me sad. I love my religion and I support it whole heartedly. It hurts to see so much division and negativity. I was raised in this Church and I love it. Some accuse me of blind faith, thinking that I have never questioned anything, but that is not true. I’ve questioned a lot of things. I have seen some of the negative things that happen with a church run by imperfect people. I’ve been on the receiving end of that negativity. I’ve gone through my own struggles with my faith, as everyone does.

But I’ve seen the positive too. All the goodness and joy it brings and all the people that are helped. And I have very recently been on the receiving end of good things too.

I know this religion, this doctrine, is perfect. The people are not. They are so far from perfect it’s kind of shameful. Heavenly Father gave us this Church, gave us these teachings and principles to live by knowing how very messed up we are. He knew we would screw this up royally. But He gave it to us anyway, because He loves us and He wanted to give us a path to follow so we could live with Him again.

And I truly believe we don’t even have the fullness of it yet. And why should we? We can’t even handle what truth and knowledge we have now.

So, as I said, I’m sad. Nobody won this. Nobody is walking away from this situation feeling good about it. Many people are hurt and confused. Some people’s faith has been shaken or even shattered and that is never a good thing. It will take time to heal and for all of us to learn how to understand each other better.

As for the “big issues” here, considering any kind of change within the Church, I will wait and listen with an open heart. That is all this imperfect soul can do.

2 thoughts on “Imperfection

  1. So humbly put! I particularly loved
    “And I truly believe we don’t even have the fullness of it yet. And why should we? We can’t even handle what truth and knowledge we have now.” never so truer words spoken!

Leave a Reply

