Am I Still A Writer?

This question has been plaguing me for the last month because it has been over a month since I wrote much of anything or even looked at my Work in Progress. Life, in all it’s good and bad varieties, has come to call and it looks like she’s not going to go away. She’s kind of a bitch like that.

But even so, I still consider myself a writer. Even though I haven’t written anything of substance in 39 days I am still a writer.

writer pad

I know there is a lot of writing advice out there that tells you to Write Everyday. They tell you to put your butt in a chair and bang your head on the keyboard if you have to, just write. But you know what? Sometimes, that just isn’t possible. And that’s okay.

There are a million things, big and small, that get in the way. From work and family obligations to that reality TV show you’re ashamed to admit you’re addicted too. Stuff happens. And sometimes you just don’t have the will to write. You spend days staring at a blank screen or piece of paper and your brain just locks up and refuses to even try and give you words to work with.

So I’m here to tell you that even if you don’t write for a few days, weeks, months, or even years. If you still want to write and if still try when you’re able to, then you’re a writer.

And don’t let anyone tell you differently. 🙂

Leave a Reply

