Book Review: Stardust

What?! Kricket is posting on a Friday? What strange sorcery is this?

It’s something new, that’s what it is. I’ve been reading a lot lately and I really like to share my reviews, but I don’t like those reviews taking up space where I could talk about other writing things. So I decided that on Fridays I will review a book. Sometimes it might be a series, or even an author (which I’ve done before).

So to kick off Book Review Friday we’re going to start with…

4 STARS

Stardust

I’ve read a lot of Gaiman’s work over the last couple years. He’s pretty amazing, but I don’t fall head over heels over everything. He’s got a very dream-like quality to his writing sometimes. Like, I feel like I’m just floating along in this world of hazy images. Sometimes that’s a good thing and sometimes not. It worked for The Ocean At The End Of The Lane, but not as much here.

The story is great and a fun twist on classic fairytales. It goes a little darker and then a little funnier than you expect. But I left this book wanting more. More story to read, yes, but also more from the characters, more of a connection.

I have seen the movie before, but it was a while ago and I don’t remember it that well, just that it was a good movie. I’ll have to watch it again.

So, if you’re stuck on what to read this weekend, I suggest this. It’s an adult fairytale with all the classic tropes but with a lot of twist too.

Tell me in the comments below: What are you reading this weekend? Right now, I’m finishing up Royal Assassin by Robin Hobb.

Thanks for checking out the first Book Review Friday! Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

