I know that we normally talk about Fairy Tail on Monday’s but, there was no new Fairy Tail this week. In fact there won’t be more Fairy Tail for a while. I didn’t know this before, but the last episode aired on March 26. According to the internet, the creators of Fairy Tail are working on a “new project”, but there’s not much more information than that.

I know I’ve skipped reviewing the last few episodes, but if y’all do want my thoughts on them, just leave a comment to let me know and I’ll do a post about it.

Now, on to the reason you’re really here, Star Wars!

I love Star Wars. I grew up watching the Originals over and over again. I was a teenager when the Prequels came out. In my naivete, I liked Phantom Menace at the time, but Clone Wars disappointed me and I hate every minute of Revenge of the Sith. I could go on and on about how much I dislike the Prequels, but again, that’s not why we’re here.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens came out on digital on Friday and I bought it right away. I was not able to see it in theaters because kids are dicks and get sick when you want a date night. In short, I loved this movie and I think I’m going to watch it again and again in the weeks to come.

I was careful to keep my expectations low. I hate having my hopes crushed by a movie. Plus, I allowed my self to be spoiled. I knew who was going to die and what places were going to be destroyed and some of the gripes of other Star Wars lovers.

WARNING NOW, THIS POST WILL BE FILLED WITH SPOILERS! If for some stupid reason you haven’t seen this movie and don’t want to be spoiled, then what the hell are you doing on the internet? 😉

Rey and FinnThings I loved about Star Wars TFA: The new characters. Finn and Rey are great additions to the universe. Rey is a wonderful female lead. She’s strong, smart and capable, but also a little naive about the galaxy. There’s always a sense of wonder in her eyes that’s really fun to see. I’m dying to know who the hell she is. But we’ll get to that later.

Finn is a really smart choice for a character. He’s coming at this from a whole new prospective and I love it. And he’s hilarious. And his major crush on Rey is adorable. And the budding bromance between him and Poe is fun to see too. Both of these characters are very complex and I can’t wait to explore them some more.

2nd Thing: I loved the whole look and feel of the movie. Thank God for practical effects! The whole thing was beautiful and flawless.

revell-star-wars-the-force-awakens-millennium-falcon-snap-max-pre-order-83rd Thing: The Millennium Falcon returns! I love that ship and I loved seeing it fly around. I cringed so hard every time it ran into something. Like, No don’t hurt her!

4th Thing: The light saber fights were so damn cool. Like the characters were really fighting and really killing and really trying not to die. These fights were not just pretty dance numbers, it felt real and vicious. And Kylo Ren’s saber is awesome.

Things I was Meh about: So I’ve seen a lot of complaints about TFA being beat for beat the same as A New Hope. And yes, I see that, but I didn’t mind it. It’s almost comical how similar they are. But in general, there’s enough new material in TFA that it’s still its own movie.

2nd Meh: They were really stretching my suspension of belief when Rey escaped from the prison on the Star Killer. I get that she’s very Force strong, but like, really, she’s now at Obi-Wan level Jedi? Um, no.

starwarshorizontalIn the end, I was really pleased with this movie and I’m super excited for the next one. There are so many questions! Who is Rey? Why did Luke disappear? How did Kylo Ren go from being a Jedi apprentice to a Sith? What’s Going To Happen?!

I have theories, and if y’all would like to read them, let me know and I’ll do a post about it. 🙂

Question time! How much do you love Star Wars? How many stars do you give The Force Awakens?

Thanks for dropping by! Be sure to like, comment and share!

3 thoughts on “Star Wars: The Force Awakens Review

  1. I would love to read your theories so please post them. As far as how much I love Star Wars, I think you already know. 🙂 I would have TFA 3 out of 5 stars. I really enjoyed the movie. It was so much fun from beginning to the end. Rey was truly engaging (if not a tad bit too powerful), Finn was hilarious and I am looking forward to seeing more from Poe. However, the plot followed episode 4 too closely. It lacked originality and there weren’t enough new starships. Death Stars are a bit played out so seeing a third one was tiresome. Also, I didn’t care for the rivalry between Ren and Hux. I saw they they were trying to set them up as the new Tarkin/Vader but their quarrels felt a bit too “high school” to me.

    1. Nearly a month later and NOW I’m seeing this comment.
      In short, I think Rey is Obi-Wan’s grand daughter. I don’t like the Luke theory because I can’t understand why Luke would ever abandon his child on a god-forsaken desert planet. Plus, the writers/director of TFA were sooo heavy handed on making you think that she’s Luke’s daughter that it makes ME think that theory is a red herring so they can surprise us in the next movie all “I am your father!” style.
      I’m dying to know who Kylo Ren killed and why and how he became a Sith. If the next movie is mostly Kylo Ren backstory, I’d be ok with that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

