I had last week’s WoRd PoW all written up last week but I never got around to finishing and posting it. Sorry about that. But we’re here now so let’s talk about the things we love!

Writing: I have written a total of 2619 words in the month of May. Not a lot but not bad either, compared to previous months. I’ve noticed I tend to sit down and write about twice a week. I’d like it to be 5 or 6 times a week and I’m making changes in my schedule to accommodate that.

22544764Reading: I finished a few books in the last two weeks. If you follow me on Goodreads you can always see what I’m reading. But yesterday I read an entire 435 page book in a day. I didn’t mean to, I just couldn’t put Uprooted by Naomi Novik down. It’s such a delightful book.

When I started reading I thought I knew in what direction the story was going. I thought this would be a simple fantasy story with a little romance and magic, but the story was a lot deeper than that and I just kept being pulled in to the mystery of The Wood. Also while there is a fun romance plot with a lot of tension, I felt the focal relationship was between the main character, Agnieszka and her friend Kasia; and I really liked that.

Doing: Potty training has begun for 4 year old Jacob. I’ve been putting it off long enough. So now my day is broken up into 30 minute chunks of getting stuff done before I have to stop everything to get this very active little boy to sit still on the potty for five minutes. I’m running out of stickers! Please send supplies! 😉

hearthstone20mage20guide20title20imagePlaying: I mentioned it briefly in my last post, but I’ve discovered Hearthstone and it is consuming my life. If you don’t know what it is, Hearthstone is a card game that works a lot like Magic the Gathering (but simpler) and is based in the World of Warcraft world (say that five times fast). It’s free-to-play on smart phones, tablets and the PC and it’s the best free-to-play game I’ve ever played with. Of course, like many free-to-play games, there’s a lot in in-app purchasing that can be done. I have yet to spend real money on the game, but I could see myself doing it and feeling satisfied with that in the future.

phil-in-pdsWatching: Most of my screen time is spent on YouTube. I hardly ever watch regular TV anymore. One of my favorite YouTubers, the one I’ve been watching the longest is Philip DeFranco. He does a little news show Monday-Thursday where he talks about news bits that interest him and gives his opinion on the matter.

I like him partly because I agree with him most of the time and because, through him I’ve learned a lot and broadened my horizons. While he is an opinionated news source I believe he is pretty fair and balanced and loves to interact and share with his community.

So that’s my WoRd PoW for this week. Let me know what you’re Writing, Reading, Doing, Playing or Watching this week in the comments!

Leave a Reply

