I’ve always intended this to be a once a week type of post but, obviously, that’s not happening. Life gets in the way, of like, everything. šŸ˜‰

Writing: No real words have been written in a while, but I’ve been itching to write the last few days, which is really good. I’ve been depressed lately, there’s some stuff I’ve been working through, but I’m getting better and I’m now feeling the need to read and create like I haven’t in some time. I’m ready to get back into a writing groove.

 

seveneves_book_coverReading: Last week I read Seveneves by Neal Stephenson. I haven’t read science fiction in a while. In fact, the last sci-fi book I read was pretty awful and it kind of put a bad taste in my mouth. But Seveneves was pretty fascinating to read.

It’s the story of how humanity reacts and then survives the destruction of the moon. I like a good apocalyptic story, especially if it’s not all humanity’s fault for the world ending. How many stories out there are about humans destroying the planet through pollution or nuclear war? A lot.

This is pretty heavy sci-fi, as in there’s a lot of techno-babble about movement in space. Yes my eyes did glaze over all the orbital movement talk. But what kept me interested was the characters and the look at human psychology. How do people react when they know the world is going to end in less than two years? How well do humans handle living in close quarters, in space? What extremes will we go to, to survive?

It’s a really interesting story. My only complaint is that is ends with a LOT of unanswered questions. I would love a sequel, but Stephenson has said he doesn’t plan on writing one. The story does stand on it’s own for the most part, but it leaves you wanting to explore this new world and there’s still the big question of What Destroyed The Moon?!

 

At the lakeDoing: I’ve been doing a few things in the last couple weeks. As I mentioned last time, we’ve been potty training the 4 year old and that is going really well. Also, this summer is dedicated to getting our yard looking nice.

We bought this house at the end of last summer. It used to be a rental property, so the yard has been neglected for who knows how long. We need to grow grass, finish the fence, cut down a large dead tree and try to make the front yard look pretty. I really enjoy working in the yard, with dirt on my hands and the sun on my back.

Also, we have become Lake People. As in, the kind of people who have a boat and go to the lake every weekend. Daniel has a tiny sail boat, and we just got me an inflatable kayak. We each take a boy with us and the whole family can sail/row around a nice small lake. It’s kind of awesome.

 

Playing: I haven’t been playing anything new lately, just lots of Hearthstone and some Minecraft (as always). I have been trying to limit how much time I spend playing games so I can use said time to write.

 

Watching: As you might know if you’ve been following this blog for a while, I love Downton Abbey and I was sad to see it end this year. Julian Fellowes, the man who wrote Dowton Abbey, has recently come out with a mini-series in conjunction with Amazon Prime called Doctor Thorne.I watched all four episodes in one sitting and it was great.doctor-thorne-2-xlarge_transmnxajrquc5hshkzy4lldicjtiqhyfrirbi-imjizu0y

The story takes place in the 1850’s and centers around a man, Dr. Throne and his niece Mary. She is the illegitimate daughter of Thorne’s late brother that the good doctor has been raising since birth. She is in love with the Lord Gresham’s son, Frank, but because of her questionable birth and lack of money his family is strongly against their union.

It’s a delightful romantic drama that I could have watched a lot more of, but it is a relatively short story. This show has also introduced me to a new writer, Anthony Trollope, who wrote the book that Fellowes adapted into the show. I’m definitely going to be checking Trollope out in the near future.

 

So that’s my WoRd PoW for this week. What have you been Writing, Reading, Doing, Playing and/or Watching? Leave a comment below so we can talk about the things we love. šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

