Hey look! WoRd PoW! is actually on a Wednesday, like I always intend it to be. 😉 Let’s get started shall we?

Writing: My word count for this last week is 1822. I didn’t write everyday, but on the days I did write I wrote a lot. My daily goal is to write at least 500 words. I tend to either not write at all in a day or I write way more than 500 words.

I haven’t been working on my WIP, not sure what’s holding me back. I have it all planned out, even spent a lot of time a couple weeks ago planning out the next couple scenes in more detail. I’ve just been avoiding writing, like I’m scared of it or something. I don’t know, my brain is weird.

 

51isww2rpol-_sy344_bo1204203200_Reading: I started reading Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo this week and I’m about half way through. I’ve not read any of her books before, but I like her a lot so far. She’s on my growing list of new (to me) authors to check out.

The book is really fascinating. It’s classified as Young Adult but the characters feel so mature despite most of them being 16 or 17. I guess it’s because of the darker tone of the book and the characters tragic back stories.

There’s six main characters and Bardugo is great at letting the reader get to know each character. She head hops to a different person every chapter, giving everyone a different voice. I’m really enjoying this story and I’m eager to read the rest of Bardugo’s work, which is set in the same world as Six of Crows.

 

fabulousDoing: So, as you might already know, or have guessed, I’m a master procrastinator. I’m very good at spending my time doing a lot of nothing. I have a hard time getting motivated and doing the things I don’t want to do *coughdishescough*. In an effort to stop wasting my time so much I came across this app called Fabulous. It’s a motivational app that helps you break down your to do list, get stuff done and feel good about your self for every little accomplishment.

I’ve been using this app for almost a week now and I’ve already seen a big improvement. I feel more motivation to do the things I normally avoid, like cleaning. I don’t get as overwhelmed by a large task; and it feels good to have a little computer voice say, “Good job, Kristen!”

 

kindle-fire-hd-6-kids-edition-reviewPlaying: As I said last time, I’ve been curbing my gaming habit, but we did just buy a Kindle Fire for the boys to use. We had one a couple years ago that William loved to play with. It was through all the kid friendly, educational apps that Amazon has that taught William the alphabet and counting before he went into preschool.

My old Fire broke, or something, and we haven’t used it in a long time. But I saw that Amazon has this deal for $100 that includes a Kindle Fire, kid proof case and a year subscription to their Amazon FreeTime Unlimited program, which basically gives you countless books, apps and videos that are all kid friendly and free.

The other cool thing I discovered with this program is it allows you to set time limits for any one activity, or just for how long a kid can play with the Kindle in general. There’s also a feature that makes it so the kids have to read or doing something educational for a set amount of time before they can play with the just for fun stuff. Summer learning for the win!*

 

Watching: I am so late to the party on this but, I finally saw Guardians of the Galaxy the other night. I knew it would be a good movie, but I kind of had my expectations low because I am so done with superhero movies. I’m at the point where if a movie is part of Marvel** or DC I just don’t even care. But Guardians of the Galaxy didn’t feel like a superhero movie, it felt like a good science fiction/action flick. In fact, it reminded me of Firefly in a lot of ways, and Firefly is pretty much perfect in my eyes.

The humor was spot on. Rocket and Groot are perfect in every way. I’d totally watch a movie based on them alone. The #1 best moment for me was this post-58050-i-am-groot-smiling-gif-imgur-aubg. I mean look at that face! He’s just so gosh darn happy about brutally killing a bunch of bad guys. Tree people, no matter what story they come from, are always the best and should not be messed with.

 

What have you been Writing, Reading, Doing, Playing and/or Watching this week? Leave a comment so we can all share the things we love!

 

*Side note: I am not the kind of mom who thinks “screen time” is a horrible evil thing.

**Side note: Marvel and X-Men FTW!

Leave a Reply

