It’s been a pretty average week.

 

aid596842-728px-outline-a-novel-step-7-version-2WRITING: I’ve been very busy outlining my new WIP. I’ve got the first couple chapters planned out in pretty good detail. Now I just have to decide which way I want the main conflict to go. I’ve got the set up and I know how I want it to end but there are a lot of ways to get from point A to point Z.

 

READING: Soooo… I kind of lost my book for like a week. It ended up behind the couch and I only found it yesterday. Thus, no reading has happened. I’ll finish Vicious this week.

 

DOING: Honestly, not much has been going on this week. Even though we had a three day weekend because of Labor Day, we just stayed home and chilled.

On Saturday we did take the boys to see their first movie in the theater, Pete’s Dragon…(see the WATCHING section)

 

PLAYING: I finished a big project on Minecraft. Over on Bruno’s Realm on the white listed Nether Ender Server, I previously built my self an acorn house. I’ve now put a gigantic squirrel on top of it.complete-squirrel

It took a few days total to come up with and finalize the design. After playing around in creative for a while, I got it how I wanted it and then I spent a couple hours graphing out every layer on graph paper.

squirrel-lvls-1-6
Layers 1-6

 

It was totally worth the effort because I was able to build it in survival in a few hours.

Definitely the coolest thing I’ve built in Minecraft. 🙂

 

WATCHING: I’ve only ever seen bits and pieces of the original, animated Pete’s Dragon and it was a rough movie. But this new one is fantastic!

636062680454150595-reel-1ab-grd057-0019558The whole family enjoyed it. The little boy who played Pete was great and Elliot the dragon looks amazing. He’s basically a big green dog with wings.

The beginning of the movie is very sad, William, who’s six, was pretty upset at first. SPOILER! (highlight if you want to see it) Pete and his parents get in a car wreck and his parents die. That’s how he ends up lost and alone in the woods. I had to reassure William that everything would be OK, because look! Now Pete has a dragon for a best friend.

The only other slightly negative thing is that the antagonist seems almost over the top. Like he’s riding that line between being a normal Disney villain and a Disney Channel Original Movie villain, if you know what I mean.

Beyond those two things, this movie was great and the boys really enjoyed it. In fact Jacob got upset when we came home because we don’t already own the movie for him to watch again.

 

So that’s been my week. What have you been Writing, Reading, Doing, Playing or Watching? Tell me in the comments! Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

