NaNoWriMo In October?

I talk about NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) at least once a year. Normally, this awesome event, where I try to write 50,000 words in 30 days, takes place in November. But, that never works well for me. November always ends up being crazy, what with William’s birthday and Thanksgiving and traveling, plus there’s always some sickness sweeping through the house at that time of year. I’ve only “completed” NaNo once or twice, and both times, I kind of, sort of, cheated. Soooo, yeah…

To change things up a bit I thought I’d do a personal NaNo type thing for October. The goal is to just get me writing everyday. So I’m not going to try for 50,000 words in a month, instead I’m setting the bar really low at 30,000. If you do the math, 30,000/31 is about 968 words/day. That sounds a little easier to manage than 1667 words/day.

So my plan is to start working on my new Dragon WIP on Oct. 1. I will count those words and the words I write for my blog in my total word count. I guess this month will be less about writing an entire novel and more about making the time to sit down and write every day.

So… Can I really call it NaNoWriMo? What about National Writing Daily Month? NaWriDaMo? If you say it with a lot of excitement it sounds like Geronimo! I like it πŸ™‚ It’s all about those baby steps sometimes.

img_20160928_085658

I’ve drawn out this cute little tracker in my Bullet Journal for NaWriDaMo. I’ve done one of these in the past but I figured I should have a fresh one for this new little project. If all goes well I’ll write a lot more than 30,000 words by the end of the month. It’s a game now to see how quickly I can get to 30,000.

That’s the plan for October. This way I’ll actually have something worth saying in my Writing section of WoRd PoW for the next month.

Feel free to join me on this little adventure! It’s always better to do stuff with friends. πŸ™‚

Thanks for dropping by!

One thought on “NaNoWriMo In October?

Leave a Reply

